0116 258 2147

Thanks to sponsorship from PPG we are offering £300 bursaries for schools towards one of our Masterclasses for 10 - 14 year olds - find out more here.

Our Team

powered by contentmap

The National Space Academy team is made up of the following:

  • Lead Educators, outstanding full-time subject specialist teachers seconded to the Academy from their schools for a number of days each year
  • Project Scientists and Engineers, who help provide the space contexts and whose time is allocated to the project as an in-kind contribution from their home organisations
  • Space Engineering course tutors, who deliver the unique post-16 course for students wanting to join the space sector
  • The core team, who facilitate the work of the network from the Academy's headquarters at the National Space Centre in Leicester and peripatetic office at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Harwell

Lead Educator Opportunity: The National Space Academy is seeking outstanding subject specialist physics teachers to deliver its curriculum focussed physics interventions to secondary students and teachers. Find out more here.


The Core Team

  • Professor Anu Ojha OBE

    Anu Ojha OBE

    Director, National Space Academy

    Read more...  
  • Andy McMurray

    Andy McMurray

    Head of Teaching and Learning, National Space Academy

    Read more...  
  • Dr Kierann Shah

    Kierann Shah

    General Manager, National Space Academy

    Read more...  
  • Christopher Duff

    Christopher Duff

    Southern Regional Project Manager, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

    Read more...  
  • Sophie Allan

    Sophie Allan

    Lead Physics Teacher, National Space Academy

    Read more...  
  • Amy Bradshaw

    Amy Bradshaw

    National Space Academy Gulf and Special Projects Coordinator  

    Read more...  
  • Lisa Colford

    Lisa Colford

    National Space Academy Administrator

    Read more...  
  • Lorna Palmer

    Lorna PalmerNational Space Academy Administrator

    Read more...  
  • Ali Panju

    Ali PanjuOgden Teacher Fellow, Gateway College, Leicester


    Read more...  


Lead Educators

  • Allan Reid

    Allan ReidPhysics and Science Teacher at Elgin Academy 

    Read more...  
  • Steffan Tudor

    Steffan TudorHead of Physics at Ysgol Glan Clwyd in St.Asaph 

    Read more...  
  • Sarah Llewellyn-Davies

    Sarah Llewelyn-DaviesSubject Leader for Astronomy, Castell Alun High School, Flintshire

    Read more...  
  • Robert Woodman

    Rober Woodman

    Head of Science at Ysgol Bro Gwaun, Fishguard 

    Read more...  
  • Andrew McDonald

    Andrew McDonald

    Science and Physics Teacher, Stirling High School 


    Read more...  
  • Tim Browett

    Tim BrowettPrincipal Teacher of Learning (Physics and Astronomy), Robert Gordon's College, Aberdeen

    Read more...  
  • Ben Windass

    Ben WindassHead of Science, St Wilfrid's RC College

    Read more...  
  • Ian Tippey

    Ian Tippey

    Head of Physics, The King's Academy, Middlesborough

    Read more...  
  • Hayley Smith

    Hayley SmithAssistant Head Teacher, Banbury Space Studio School, 

    Read more...  
  • Robin Mobbs

    Robin Mobbs

    Advanced Skills Teacher in Physics, Freman College, Buntingford

    Read more...  
  • Mike Grocott

    Mike Grocott

    ESERO UK Ambassador

    Read more...  
  • Conor Davies

    conor daviesHead of Physics, Ashville College

    Read more...  
  • Keeley Arundel-McConachie

    KEELEY ARUNDEL-MCCONACHIEHead of Science, Sir John Gleed School, Lincs

    Read more...  
  • Nicole Cozens

    Nicole CozensMathematics Teacher,  Worthing College

    Read more...  
  • Caroline Molyneux

    Caroline Molyneux

    Deputy Headteacher, Sharples School, Bolton

    Read more...  
  • Chris Carr

    Chris CarrBiology Teacher, John Leggott College

    Read more...  
  • Ruth Rowsell

    Ruth Williamson

    The Priory Academy LSST

    Read more...  
  • Lee Sheldon

    Lee SheldonVice Principal at Ibstock College, Leicestershire 

    Read more...  
  • Kevin Abbott

    Kevin AbbottPhysics Teacher and ICT Coordinator Thornhill College, Derry 

    Read more...  
  • Leanne Hawthorne

    Leanne HawthornePhysics Teacher at Belfast Boys Model School 

    Read more...  
  • Chris Beard

    Chris Beard2Assistant Principal at Bolton UTC 

    Read more...  
  • Judith Green

    Judith GreenRobert Smyth Academy

    Read more...  
  • Eleanor Edwards

    EleanorEdwards200Eleanor Edwards Biology Teacher, Belfast High School.

    Read more...  
  • Steve Althorpe

    Steve AlthorpeHead of Science, Robert Smyth Academy   

    Read more...  


Project Scientists

  • Dr Helen Walker

    Dr Helen Walker

    Data Scientist, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

    Read more...  
  • Professor John Bridges

    john bridgesProfessor John Bridges, Reader in Planetary Science, Space Research Centre, University of Leicester

    Read more...  
  • Dr Chun Keat Yew

    Chun Keat yewChun Keat Yew, Postdoctoral researcher, School of Environment Sciences, University of Hull

    Read more...  
  • John Holt

    John Holt 200John Holt, Research Engineer, Space Research Centre, University of Leicester

    Read more...  
  • Dr Hugh Mortimer

    HughMortimer200Space Science and Atmospheric Scientist, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

    Read more...  

All of our masterclases and CPDs can be tailored to suit the needs of your group. Please contact the National Space Academy for more details here. 

Our Team

01 newsFlash images network01

Outstanding teachers delivering courses across the UK.

Find out more


01 newsFlash images resources01

Online resources for lessons and demonstrations

Read more


01 newsFlash images careers01

Careers events and useful links for students

Find out more


Support Usadasdas


Find out how you can support our work and programmes.

Find out more